State of Origin 1 – June 6 – MCG – QLD & NSW Teams Announced

State of Origin 1 June 6 MCG QLD NSW

Following the team announcements for the Queensland Maroons (QLD) and the New South Wales Blues (NSW), betting markets for Game 1 of the 2018 series opener at the MCG on June 6 were immediately updated based on the bookies assessment of the two largely experienced squads.

It appears to be a period of transition for both teams and the bookies have assessed that NSW have the stronger side on paper for Game 1;

New South Wales

NSW Blues

      1. James Tedesco
      2. Tom Trbojevic
      3. Latrell Mitchell
      4. James Roberts
      5. Josh Addo-Carr
      6. James Maloney
      7. Nathan Cleary
      8. David Klemmer
      9. Damien Cook
      10. Reagan Campbell-Gillard
      11. Boyd Cordner (c)
      12. Tyson Frizell
      13. Jack De Belin
      14. Paul Vaughan
      15. Jake Trbojevic
      16. Angus Crichton
      17. Tyrone Peachey
      18. Tariq Sims
      19. Nick Cotric

Blues regulars of the last few losing seasons, Josh Dugan, Blake Ferguson, Aaron Woods, Wade Graham and Josh Jackson have all been left out as NSW selectors have one eye to the future by putting experience to one side and investing in youth and flair. It is a gamble, but after losing 12 or the last 13 series, it’s worth a try.


QLD Maroons

On the other hand, the Maroons are exactly where they want to be and in a position that continues to drive Origin folklore-and-mythology.

Naturally, going into Game 1 at the MCG, the Maroons are underdogs.

Whilst they have chosen a side with less debutants than NSW, it is a relatively inexperienced Maroons team also, to be led however by a man with an imposing Origin record, superstar Greg Inglis;

    1. Billy Slater
    2. Valentine Holmes
    3. Greg Inglis
    4. Will Chambers
    5. Dane Gagai
    6. Cameron Munster
    7. Ben Hunt
    8. Dylan Napa
    9. Andrew McCullough
    10. Jarrod Wallace
    11. Gavin Cooper
    12. Felise Kaufusi
    13. Josh McGuire
    14. Michael Morgan
    15. Josh Papali
    16. Coen Hess
    17. Jai Arrow

About the Author

is Betting Top 10 Australia’s Sports News Columnist and sports is his true passion. As a former Queensland State level underage Cricketer and Rugby League Player and Sports Statistic Nerd, he brings a wealth of many years of discerning sports analysis and the practical expertise of being a twice winner of a national NRL tipping competition. Contact me: [email protected]

Back to Top ↑