Adelaide 500 kicks off the 2018 Supercars Season

Adelaide 500

Adelaide 500

by Ken Edwards, 27 February 2018

World-Class Touring Car Racing hits the iconic Adelaide Street Circuit for a history-making 20th time in 2018 with the opening round of the 2018 Supercars Championship, with two 250km races on Saturday and Sunday. Known for many years as the Clipsal 500, the race transforms as the Adelaide 500.


Shane Van Gisbergen won the final Clipsal 500 Adelaide race in 2017, so who will triumph in the Adelaide 500 Championship in 2018?  

New Rules & Regulations means for Closer Racing

This year’s Adelaide 500 field of cars is the highest quality ever.

13 brand new cars are included, while four existing Holden vehicles are totally revamped.

With the ‘Next Generation’ era of the Supercars series coming fully online in 2021, many of the manufacturers are already altering their vehicles and outlook ahead of the change. Before, the newness of the Nissans and Mercedes meant they were initially on the back foot. That’s all changed now.

Within a few years, the Supercars grid should be a very different place and possibly without any V8s at all by the end of this decade. By 2020, a Supercar could look like this;


In 2018, Anyone, Any Car can now win in Adelaide

Supercars driver Will Davison, a 19-time Supercars race winner who took out the Adelaide 500 in 2012, will line-up with the new 23Red team after moving from Tekno Autosports.

Will Davison

Will Davison says it’s difficult to know how his new 23Red Racing car will respond on debut in Adelaide, considering the closeness of the 2018 grid.

“The field this year is so impressive, you can’t underestimate anyone,” Davison explained ahead of the Adelaide race.

“There’s not one bad car on the grid, there’s not a single car that can’t win” he added.

Supercars 2018 Season Odds 

Given the racing in Adelaide will be so tight, pickings are more fruitful in the 2018 season odds from SportsBet. 


Championship Odds

Scott McLaughlin


Shane Van Gisbergen


Jamie Whincup


Fabian Coulthard


Chaz Mostert


Craig Lowndes


David Reynolds


Mark Winterbottom