Sheffield League Prediction

The Sheffield Shield is an Australian domestic first-class cricket competition, the 117th season of which starts on October 16th 2018. 6 teams will participate in the Sheffield Shield 2018-19 season and a total of 31 matches will be played in the season that will conclude with the final played between 28th March and 1st April 2019.

Sheffield Teams

The teams that participate in the Sheffield Shield or as it also known as the Pura Cup are –

  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia
  • New South Wales

The squads for all the participating teams have been announced. Here is a look at the squads of these teams.

Sheffield Squads


The batsmen in the Victoria squad are Travis Dean (rhb), Marcus Harris (lhb), Will Pucovski (rhb), Matthew Short (rhb), Cameron White (rhb) and Peter Handscomb (rhb) who is also the captain of the Victoria cricket team.
The bowlers in this squad include Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Andrew Fekete, Jackson Coleman, Chris Tremain.
Seb Gotch is the all-rounder in the Victoria side who is also a wicket keeper batsman.


The Tasmania side is led by former Australia ODI captain George Bailey (rhb). Other batsmen in the squad include Alex Doolan (rhb), Jake Doran (lhb), Riley Meredith (lhb), Jordan Silk (rhb), and Beau Webster (rhb).
Gabe Bell and Jackson Bird are two right-arm-fast-medium bowlers in the Tasmania squad along with 3 all-rounders – Simon Milenko, Sam Rainbird, Thomas Rogers.
Matthew Wade will be keeping the wickets for Tasmania as he has done for the Australia international side in the past.


Jimmy Pierson (wk & rhb) will be leading the defending champions Queensland in the Sheffield Shield 2018-19 season. There are 4 batsmen in this squad which includes Max Bryant (rhb), Joe Burns (rhb), Sam Heazlett (lhb) and Sam Truloff (rhb).

5 bowlers have included in the squad are Luke Feldman, Peter George, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, and Jack Wildermuth.

Charlie Hemphrey, and Nathan McSweeney are 2 all-rounder who bowl right-arm offbreak.

South Australia

South Australia finished at number 6 in the Sheffield Shield 2017-18 season and will be led by Jake Lehmann who is a left-hand bat, left-arm orthodox bowling all-rounder.

South Australia batting line up consists of Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Conor McInerney, and Jake Weatherald and Harry Nielsen as the wicket keeper batsman.

Lloyd Pope who is being called as Warne 2.0 will be joining South Australia in this season. He will be bowling alongside Joe Mennie, Kane Richardson, Chadd Sayers and Nick Winter.

Western Australia

Ashton Turner, the right-arm offbreak bowler will be leading the Western Australia side in this season of the Sheffield Shield.

Western Australia batting comprises of Simon Mackin, Josh Philippe, Jonathan Wells and the wicket keeper batsman Josh Inglis.

5 all-rounders have made it to the Western Australia squad – William Bosisto, Hilton Cartwright, David Moody, Marcus Stoinis, and Usman Qadir.

Matthew Kelly and Cameron Green will be joining the captain in the bowling department.

New South Wales

Peter Nevill, the wicket-keeper batsman will lead the New South Wales cricket team in the Sheffield Shield 2018-19 season.

The batsmen who made it to the New South Wales squad are Jack Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Nick Larkin, Daniel Sams, and Jason Sangha.

The bowling department will feature Sean Abott, Trent Copeland, and Mickey Edwards.

Moises Henriques who has played for the international side, along with Steve Okeefe and Kurtis Patterson will be the 3 all-rounders included in the New South Wales squad.

Sheffield League Venues

Here is the list of all the venues for the Sheffield Shield 2018-19 matches.

Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

4 matches played at this venue are – Match no 1, 5, 11 and 21.

The Gabba, Brisbane

5 matches will be played at this venue are – Match no 2, 14, 23 and 26.

W.A.C.A Ground, Perth

Here are the 5 matches that will be played at the W.A.C.A Ground – Match no 3, 6, 24 and 30.

Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

The 5 matches hosted at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne will be – Match no 4, 8, 16, and 22.

Allan Border Field, Brisbane

Match no 9 will be hosted at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane

Manuka Oval, Canberra

Match no 10 will be hosted at Manuka Oval, Canberra

Bellerive Oval, Hobart

The Bellerive Oval, Hobart will play host to 5 Sheffield Shield matches – Match no 12, 13, 18, 27, 28.

Perth Stadium, Perth

Match no 15 will be played at Perth Stadium, Perth.

Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

There will be 1 match played at Sydney Cricket Ground – Match no 17

Junction Oval, Melbourne

Junction Oval will play host to one Sheffield Shield match – Match no 19

Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide, South Australia

Match no 29 will be played at Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide, South Australia.

Schedule of the Sheffield League

The format of the Sheffield Shield 2018-19 season will be double round-robin and have 1 final that will start on 28th March 2019.

Every team plays 2 matches with each of the 5 other teams in the competition making it 10 matches in total for each of the teams in the Sheffield Shield 2018-19 season.

There are 10 rounds in the competition and each team plays 1 match in each of these 10 rounds.

There will be 3 matches played in every round, all during the same dates and time at 3 different venues.

Round 1 starts October 16th and the last round that is round 10 will be played between 20th March and 23rd March 2019.

The final of the Sheffield Field will be played from 28th March to 1st April 2019 and the venue is yet to be scheduled.

The Sheffield Shield season is a crucial one from the selection point of view for the Australia national side and a lot of new and talented young players will be keen on showcasing their skills and scoring runs, picking wickets during the next few months of the season.

Stay updated with latest match predictions for the Sheffield Shield matches.