Mzansi Super League is a T20 cricket tournament that’s played in South Africa between 6 teams representing 6 different cities. This is the first edition of the tournament which will be played between 16th November and 16th December 2018.

Mzansi Super League Teams

There are a total of 6 teams participating in the Mzansi Super League 2018. These are the teams –

  1. Cape Town Blitz
  2. Tshwane Spartans
  3. Jozi Stars
  4. Nelson Mandela Bay Giants
  5. Durban Heat
  6. Paarl Rocks

Mzansi League 2018 Squads

Cape Town Blitz

Cape Town Blitz will be led by Farhan Behardien. Here are the batsmen featuring in this Cape Town Blitz squad –

Quniton de Kock, Asif Ali, Janneman Malan, Jason Smith, Kyle Verreynne.

There are 7 all-rounders in the CTB squad including the skipper Farhan Behardien –

Dawid Malan, Andile Phehlukwayo, Malusi Siboto, George Line, Ferisco Adams, and Mohammad Nawaz.

The bowling department has the big guns like Dale Steyn and Samuel Badree, along with Anrich Nortje, and Dane Piedt.

Tshwane Spartans

The legendary batsman AB de Villiers will be leading the Tshwane Spartans team in the Mzansi Super League 2018. Here are all the batsman included in the Tshwane Spartans squad –

Eoin Morgan, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Rilee Rossouw.

There are 7 all-rounders in this squad –

Robbie Frylinck, Jeevan Mendis, Theunis de Bruyn, Rory Kleinveldt, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, and Shaun von Berg.

Among the bowlers Lungi Ngidi will be seen sporting the Tshwane Spartans jersey in this MSL 2018 season along with Andrew Birch, Lutho Sipamla and Eldred Hawken.

Jozi Stars

Dane Vilas will be the wicket-keeper captain for Jozi Stars. The batsmen featuring in the Jozi Stars squad are

Chris Gayle, Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks, Petrus van Biljon, Ryan Rickelton, Sinethemba Qeshile.

While the batting of Jozi Stars is star-studded, so is their bowling –

Kagiso Rabada, Bern Hendricks, Eddie Leie, Simon Harmer, Shimane Alfred Mothoa, and Nono Pongolo.

There are 4 all-rounders in the Jozi Stars squad –

Daniel Christian, Dwaine Pretorius, Duanne Olivier, and Calvin Savage.

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants

The Nelson Mandela Bay Giants team be led by the batting all-rounder JJ Smuts. Other all-rounders in the NMBG squad are –

Chris Morris, Christiaan Jonker, Sisanda Magala, Ryan McLaren, and Lizaad Williams.

The batsmen in the squad include –

Ben Duckett, Marco Marais, Dylan Matthews, and Rudi Second.

The bowling department will be helmed by –

Imran Tahir, Junior Dala, Aaron Phangiso, and Carmi le Roux.

Durban Heat

Albie Morkel will be the captain of Durban Heat for Mzansi Super League 2018. There are 5 all-rounders including Albie Morkel in this squad and the other four all-rounders are –

Keshav Maharaj, Vernon Philander, Sarel Erwee, and Prenelan Subrayen.

The batsmen included in the DH squad are –

Hashim Amla, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Khaya Zondo, Temba Bavuma, Morne van Wyk.

In the bowing department, Durban Heat squad will feature –

Kyle Abbott, Matchant de Lange, Brandon Mavuta, Okuhle Cele, and Tladi Bokako.

Paarl Rocks

Faf du Plessis will be leading the Paarl Rocks side in Mzansi Super League 2018.

The batsmen in the Paarl Rocks squad are –

Aiden Markram, Michael Klinger, Henry Davids, and Mangliso Mosehle.

There will be 6 all-rounders in the Paarl Rocks squad for this MSL season

Dwayne Bravo, Grant Thomson, David Wiese, Patric Kruger, Kerwin Mungroo, and Cameron Delport.

Paarl Rocks bowling will feature –

Tabraiz Shamsi, Dane Paterson, Bjorn Fortuin, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Tshepo Moreki, Nathan Bosch.

Who will win Mzansi Super League 2018?

Tshwane Spartans and Cape Town Blitz seem to have a good chance of winning the Mzansi Super League 2018. Both the teams have a great combination of batters and all-rounders which is essential in T20 format of the game. Tshwane Spartans batting line-up is a star studded one with all great batsmen in the T20 format. While Cape Town Blitz has great bowlers and al-rounders that can change the course of the match in the death overs.

Mzansi Odds

There are great odds right now for all the teams in the To Win Outright market on Bet365.

  • Cape Town Blitz are the leading contenders in the race to the Mzansi Super League 2018 title with the odds of 4.00. Bet Rs.100 and win Rs.400. BET NOW
  • The odds of 4.00 are the lowest in this market meaning the minimum profit a punter can make betting on the To Win Outright market is Rs.300 on a Rs.100 bet. BET NOW
  • There are higher odds for Tshwane Spartans – 4.50 and Durban Heat – 4.50. Betting Rs.100 on either of the team will return Rs.450 if the team emerges as champions. BET NOW
  • Jozi Stars, the team with Chris Gayle and Ryan Rickelton has the odds of 5.50 in this market. Bet Rs.100 and win Rs.550. BET NOW
  • There is quite a difference between the odds for Nelson Mandela Bay Giants – 6.00 and Paarl Rocks – 9.00. BET NOW
  • A Rs.100 bet on Paarl Rocks will return Rs.900 if the team becomes Mzansi Super League 2018 champions. BET NOW

Mzansi Super League Venues

There are 6 venues where the 32 T20s of the Mzansi Super League will be played between 6 teams. Here are these venues –

  1. Newland, Capetown
  2. New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
  3. Kingsmead, Durban
  4. Boland Park, Paarl
  5. St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
  6. SuperSport Park, Centurion

Mzansi 2018 Fixtures

A total of 32 T20s will be played from 16th November to 16th December 2018 in the Mzansi Super League 2018.

The tournament will be played in a round-robin format with each team playing every other team twice. After the league stage is completed, the team at the top of the points table will progress to the final and the teams at number 2 and 3 will compete with each other in the play-off for the spot in the final.

The eliminator which is the match between team finishing 2nd and 3rd will be played on 14th December. The team winning this match will go in the finals to play the team that finishes top of the table.

The final will be played on 16th December 2018.