Ford Trophy 2018 Predictions

The Ford Trophy 2018 is the List A cricket tournament played in New Zealand and this will be 48th season of the one-day tournament. Previously the tournament was scheduled to be played from December 2018 to February 2019. It is now scheduled to be played from 24th October to 1st December 2018.

The tournament features 6 teams and a total of 10 rounds in which 32 matches will be played in a round-robin and knockout format. It will be very interesting for cricket betting fans.

Ford Trophy 2018 Predictions

Ford Trophy Teams

Here are the 6 teams the will be participating in the Ford Trophy 2018 –

  1. Auckland
  2. Canterbury
  3. Central Districts
  4. Northern Knights
  5. Otago
  6. Wellington



Auckland Aces

Auckland team will be led by Craig Cachopa. The batsmen in the Auckland squad are –Finn Allen, Jamie Brown, Robert ODonnell, and Sean Solia.

Auckland has 3 all-rounders in the squad – Graeme Begin, Ben Honre, and William Somerville.

While the bowling department of Auckland features Micheal Barry, Danru Ferns, Mitchel McChenaghan, and Matt McEwan.

Aucland are the defending champions of the Ford Trophy.




Cole McConchie who is a bowler in the Canterbury squad will be the captain for this season of the Ford Trophy.

The batsmen in the squad include Blake Coburn, Cam Fletcher, Tom Latham, Stephen Murdoch, Henry Nicholls, and Fraser Sheat.

The Canterbury squad has 4 all-rounders – Chad Bowes, Andrew Ellis, Theo van Woerkom and Andrew Hazeldine.

Along with the captain Cole McConchie, other bowlers in this squad are Matt Henry, Henry Shipley, and Will Williams.


Central Districts


Doug Bracewell is the captain of the Central Districts team.

The batting line-up includes Grey Hay, Ben Smith, and Ma Ava Ave. The Canterbury squad 3 all-rounders and they are – Josh Clarkson, Willem Ludick, and Dean Foxcroft.

Central Districts squad has 6 bowlers including the captain Doug Bracewell, along with Ryan McCone, Felix Murray, Kieran Noema-Barnett, Navin Patel and Bevan Small.


Northern Knights

Northern Disticts

Lead by Dean Brownlie, the Norther Knights squad will have 5 batsmen – PD Bocock, HR Cooper, Daniel Flynn, Daryl Mitchell, and Joe Carter.

All-rounders in the squad are – Anton Devcich, Brett Hampton, Nicholas Frederick Kelly. Anton Devcich has featured in Afghanistan Premier League recently.

Here are the bowlers in the Northern Knights squad – Trent Boult, Zak Gibson, Brett Randell, Neil Wagner, James Baker, and Joe Walker. Trent Boult has represented New Zealand on the international stage and has been a start bowler for New Zealand national team.



Mark Craig will be leading Otago team in this season of the Ford Trophy. The batsmen included in this squad are Neil Broom, Anaru Kitchen, Mitch Renwick, and Hamish Rutherford.

Otago will be entering this season with 3 all-rounders in the squad – Jacob Duffy, Josh Finnie, and Nathan G Smith.

Along with Mark Craig the other bowlers in this squad are Matthew Bacon, Warren Barnes, Shawn Hicks, and Michael Rippon.



Wellington Firebirds

Here is another bowling captain in this Ford Tophy leading the Wellington side – Hamish Bennett.

The Wellington squad includes these batsmen – Jakob Bhula, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Andrew Fletcher, Lauchie Johns, and Alex Ridley.

Wellington will be going into this tournament with 2 all-rounders – James Neesham and Malcolm Nofal.

In the bowling department, along with the captain Hamish Bennett, the Wellington squad includes Ian McPeake, Ollie Newton, Ben Sears and Peter Younghusband.

Ford Trophy Venues

There are 10 venues in total that will be hosting the Ford Trophy 2018 matches. Here are those venues –

  • Nelson
  • Wellington
  • Auckland
  • Hamilton
  • New Plymouth
  • Christchurch
  • Dunedin
  • Lincoln
  • Invercargill
  • Whangarei

Ford Trophy Schedule & Fixtures

There will be 10 rounds in the league stage played from 24th October to 24th November 2018.

There will be 3 matches played in every round at the same time at 3 different venues.

Here are the dates for round 1 to round 10 –

fordtrophy 01

Ford Trophy Schedule & Fixtures

A total of 30 one-day matches will be played during these 10 rounds and after the completion of round 10, the preliminary final is scheduled to be played on 28th November.

The Ford Trophy final will be played on 1st December 2018. The venue for preliminary final and the final are yet to be decided.