Asia Cup 2018 Final – Highlights & Summary

IND vs BAN Asia Cup Final HighlightsEntering into the finals undefeated, India started out as favourites to win the final. Bangladesh on the other hand had won last two consecutive super four matches after being defeated by India in the 1st super four ODI.

Bangladesh had the potential to cause a major upset. Bangladesh defended a low total against both Afghanistan and Pakistan.

India won the toss and elected to field first.

Bangladesh innings

Bangladesh got off to a great start, just what they would want against a team like India. Openers Liton Das and Mehidy Hasan together put 120 runs for the first wicket.

Powerplay 1 – 65/0 (0.1 to 10.0 overs)

That was the first 100+ opening partnership for Bangladesh in Asia Cup 2018. The stage was set by the openers for Bangladesh.

First wicket fell in the 21st over when Kedar Jadhav gave India the breakthrough dismissing Mehidy Hasan out caught.

Bangladesh were 120-1 at the fall of first wicket.

This created a window of opportunities for the Indian bowlers to strike at regular intervals and pick wickets. Imrul Kayes was out lbw by Chahal in the 24th over after just 8 runs were scored together by the opener and the number 3 batsman.

3 overs and 9 runs later, Bangladesh lost their 3rd wicket when Kedar Jadhav dismissed Mushfiqur Rahim out caught for 5. Another wicket fell soon in the next over as Mohammad Mithun was run out for 2.

Bangladesh were 139-4 in the 28th over.

While Bangladesh lost wickets from one end, Liton Das kept scoring runs from the other. He got to his hundred in just 87 balls with 11 fours and 2 sixes.

After Mahmudullah was out caught by Bumrah on a delivery from Kuldeep Yadav for just 4 runs, Bangladesh were 5 wickets down for 151 runs in the 33rd over.

Soumya Sarkar along with Liton Das put together a 37-runs partnership for the 6th wicket. It came to an end when Kuldeep Yadav deceived Liton Das and Dhoni stumped him out. He scored 121 off 117 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes.

Bangladesh was all out for 222 in the 49th over.

Indian bowlers made a good comeback after a solid start from the Bangladesh openers. Bangladesh lost 5 wickets for 44 runs in the last 10 overs.

Kuldeep Yadav picked 3 wickets along with Kedar Jadhav who picked 2 wickets and Bumrah and Chahal picked one wicket each.

India innings

As we had pointed out in our previous update in the India vs Bangladesh additional betting tips, India’s lower order had struggled in the last 10 overs against Hong Kong and Afghanistan which was the only time their lower order was exposed.

Bangladesh had a chance to cause a major upset in this final if they get India’s top order batsman out early.

India’s openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan started out with confidence hitting fours and sixes and scoring a very good run rate. Nazmul Islam picked 1st wicket for Bangladesh in the 5th over dismissing Dhawan out caught for 15.

This was big wicket, the in-form batsman getting out early in the innings could mean Bangladesh getting an upper hand later on.

Soon after, in the 8th over, Ambati Rayudu was caught behind on a delivery from the Mashrafe Mortaza and India were 46-2 in the 8th over.

Powerplay1 – India lost 2 wickets in the 1st powerplay and scored 57 runs.

Rohit Sharma lost his wicket to Rubel Hossain in the 17th over. He scored 48 off 55 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes.

Dinesh Karthik along with MS Dhoni put together 54 runs for the 4th wicket. Their 54-runs partnership ended when Mahmudullah dismissed Karthik out lbw. Karthik scored 37 off 61with 1 four and 1 six.

India was 4 wickets down for 137.

MS Dhoni was out for 36 runs just 6 overs later when he was caught behind on a delivery from Mustafizur Rahman.

India lost more wickets as they inched closer to victory and Jadeja (23) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (21) were out in the 48th and 49th over respectively.

India needed 6 runs off the last over and Kuldeep Yadav and Kedar Jadhav scored 1 off every ball to take India to victory on the last ball.

India won the match by 3 wickets with no balls remaining. Liton Das was awarded man of the match for his performance.

Shikhar Dhawan won the Man of the Series for his amazing performances through the series.

India won the Asia Cup 2018.

India had defeated Bangladesh in the Asia Cup 2016 final to win the title. This is India’s 7th Asia Cup title win.

About the Author

Back to Top ↑