Meet the 2018 World Cup Mascots Predicting the Winners

The Russian World Cup mascot for 2018 has been revealed. The mascot is a wolf named Zabivaka and will take his place in history along with all the World cup mascots that have come before him. The host country always names the official mascot who represents the overall tournament.

Zabivaka means “the one who scores” and was created by a student designer named Ekaterina Bocharova. The wolf was chosen through a voting system with more than one million votes cast. Zabivaka is all about fun, charm, and confidence, and this wolf came about after Russian children were allowed to suggest what they wanted. The ideas where then given to students who submitted their designs.

Vitaly Mutko, Local Organising Committee Chairman, said, “I am sure Zabivaka will be a massive hit among fans at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia.”

World Cup Mascots - Zabivaka The Wolf for Russia 2018

As far as World Cup mascots go, Zabivaka has his own personal profile. He’s the youngest player. He’s fast, bold, and skilful. He is fun, charming, confident, and his talent will help his team win every match. He wears sports glasses when he plays too.

Past World Cup Mascots

There have been world cup mascots since 1966 and below we list them all.

  • World Cup Willie the lion – 1966 England
  • Juanito the boy – 1970 Mexico
  • Tip and Tap, two boys – 1974 West Germany
  • Guachito the footballer – 1978 Argentina
  • Naranjito the orange – 1982 Spain
  • Pique the hot pepper – 1986 Mexico
  • Ciao the stick figure player – 1990 Italy
  • Striker the dog – 1994 United States
  • Footix the cockerel – 1998 France
  • Spheriks the energy – 2002 Korea/Japan
  • Goleo VI the lion – 2006 Germany
  • Zakumi the leopard – 2010 South Africa
  • Fuleco the three-banded armadillo – 2014 Brazil

More Interesting Facts

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑