The top scorer at the World Cup is the player in the tournament that scores the most goals. This award is called the Golden Boot, and it is one of the most popular bets for the World Cup. Lionel Messi has the best odds to win the Golden Boot this summer, and in 2014 he was tied with the 3rd most goals but did win the Golden Ball as the best player in the tournament.

2018 World Cup Top Goal Scorer Odds

The tournament is still a few months away, but the odds for the top goal scorers are already posted. Below you can check out the player’s odds to win the Golden Boot at different online sportsbooks. This bet is a type of futures bet for the tournament where the odds will change depending on how that player is performing during the competition.

betway sports
Harry Kane
Kylian Mbappe
Antoine Greizmann
Luka Modric
Mario Mandzukic
Ivan Rakitic
Ivan Perisic
Andrej Kramaric

How it Works

Winning the Golden Boot is not hard to understand, as the player with the most goals in the World Cup tournament wins the award. The first time the award was given was in 1982, and it was called the Golden Shoe award until 2010 when it was renamed the Golden Boot. All goals count towards the top scorer award, and that includes penalties as well.

Since 1994 the rules of the award changed and if there is a tie between players for the most goals the award will go to the player that also has the most assists. Since 2006 there was another change where if there is still a tie in the number of goals scored and assists than the player that has played the least amount of time will win the award. The odds for the award will change up to the tournament depending on the form of the player and if they are injured.

Also, the odds will change during the tournament depending on how the player is performing. For example, if Lionel Messi scores three goals in the opening match of group play his odds will change accordingly. The odds that you get when you make a bet for the top scorer in Russia in 2018 are the ones you are locked in on no matter how much they change afterwards.

Our Predictions

The usual suspects of Messi, Ronaldo, and Neymar are the favourites to win the Golden Boot this summer and with good reason. As of late February, Argentina’s Messi leads La Liga in scoring and while his country did not have the easiest time in the qualification process their star came up big with him betting a hat-trick in a match facing Ecuador, on the road no less, to secure qualification for the World Cup. Ronaldo has not had the greatest season for a struggling Real Madrid squad, but in World Cup qualification for Europe, he had the second most goals.

Neymar has had a solid first season for PSG, and he ranks second in the league in goals scored behind teammate Edinson Cavani. Cavani’s fellow Uruguay striker Luis Suarez, who ranks second in La Liga in goals, have decent odds to win the top scorer but are not a couple of the favourites. A couple of other players that have good betting odds to win top scorer in Russia this summer include France’s Antoine Griezmann. He who won the Golden Boot at the 2016 European Championships, Also in contention is Brazil’s Gabriel Jesus, who played well for his team in World Cup qualification, and England’s Harry Kane, who leads the Premier League in goals. You also cannot count out Thomas Muller, who has decent betting odds and came in second in the 2014 World Cup in goals scored leading his German team to the title.

Quick guide to betting

It is easy to bet on the top goal scorer, as you simply find a reputable sportsbook such as Bodog, Intertops, or Sports Interaction and place the bet on what player will win the top scorer. The sportsbook will have different odds for players to win the award and the odds you receive when making the wager are the ones you are locked in on no matter how much they change. When making a wager for the top goal scorer look at their current form, how they have fared in World Cup qualifying, and who their team plays in the World Cup in the group stage.

Top Scorers Interesting Facts

  • Besides the Golden Boot, the Silver Boot and Bronze Boot are also awarded as the players with the second and third most goals in the tournament.
  • Oleg Salenko is the only player to win the Golden Boot (1994) for a team that did not progress past the group stage.
  • Brazil’s Ronaldo won the Golden Boot in 2002 and in 2006 he won the Bronze Boot.
  • Germany’s Miroslav Klose has scored the most goals in the World Cup with 16 playing in four tournaments, and Ronaldo ranks second with 15 goals also in four tournaments.
  • France’s Just Fontaine holds the record for most goals in a single World Cup with 13, and those 13 goals put him third on the all-time list even though he only played in one tournament.
  • Hungary’s Sándor Kocsis ranks 6th all-time in World Cup goals but is first in goals per match (2.20) after scoring 11 goals in only five matches in the 1954 World Cup.